In Praise of my Alma mater; QUEEN’S COLLEGE, Yaba, Lagos.

I am more than glad I finished from Queen’s College, Yaba. Many people have comments and opinions about the school, but the truth is whether or not these things are true, I know for sure that the school impacted a lot in me. Things I wouldn’t get anywhere else but in Q.C. Things I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.Image

You become a student of Q.C; you are welcomed into a family. A community; a place where everyone shares your laughter and tears. At first you hate the school because of its many rules, but later you take the pride. You become happy to be a member of such a community.

There are only two schools in Africa; Queen’s College and others

You may say that the school lives on past glory, but the reality of it is that it has produced, is producing, and will keep producing strong, reliable, and confident women. The school has gone through lots of challenges from over population, strikes caused by government irrationality. I mean after Obasanjo’s girls had passed through the school, he called for privatization of Federal Government schools.

Found this old photo on Facebook. Class of 70 something *facepalm* LOL
Found this old photo on Facebook. Class of 70 something *facepalm* LOL

Another truth is that because it is so great a school doesn’t mean it wouldn’t have the black sheep. Every school no matter how good will produce the good and the bad.

It baffles me when people say that Q.C girls are bad. When people ask me what school did you finish from and I say Q.C, the person will then say ‘It means you are a bad girl. Q.C girls, we know your gist.’ Excuse, what gist?  No! Queen’s College girls are not bad. The girl is bad. Society is bad. If the girl did not let the school pass through her, then it’s her cup of tea. Who are we anyway to judge bad from good? Like you are any better?

Queen’s College has become a provision for girls who aren’t born royalties (like me) to become actual royalties.

Queen’s College hopes to sustain excellence in girl child education. It has succeeded in molding prominent Nigerian women, and won’t stop.

dsc_8810_ed_sm

Education in Queen’s College was and IS an all-round education. Queen’s College, like any other government school takes just 5000 Naira as actual fees but gives quality training.

We were taught to walk heads up, shoulders high. When walking, we were taught to sway. To behave in a seemly manner at all times. We were taught not to eat with our uniforms on outside school. We were taught to dress appropriately.  Not to shout like Oshodi market women. We were taught respect. To sit like queens- Upright, legs crossed together to the side. We were taught to be punctual.  In the harshest conditions, Queen’s College made you look for alternatives for survival- Like during water scarcity. We learnt different languages and cultures- acculturation, cultural night. Like any other government school, we learnt how to relate with people from different social backgrounds. We were taught to pray in everything- Prep prayer, school prayer, general prayer before food, at the mosque- for Muslims, in church- Catholics, and Protestants. Queen’s College girls are the best marchers. We were taught not to be shy. Taught to dance, sing- Lara George is one of them. The school encourages social activities. The community knows very well how to do a grand celebration- 80th anniversary (anticipating when the school will be 100!). We were taught cleanliness. We had to do morning duties before classes. God bless you, you do not do it mehn Mrs. Obi will get you. The truth is the teachers loved us. We cared about other things and did not actually see that love.

The disabled weren’t/ aren’t left out. In being our brother’s keeper, we were taught to help them. I did not have any ‘special student’ in my class though.

Imagine. Mrs Ogunnaike wanted us to pass mathematics. She knew that if we did not pass it, there was no way we could enter university. So, she organized a 3-day maths seminar that was honestly boring, but for our own good. We had teachers repeating words so that we would appreciate one day- “Solve one math a day, and get an A”- Mrs. Ebo. The staff of Queen’s College could organize seminars die -_-. They invited successful people to talk to us. To give us lessons we couldn’t get for free outside, free of charge. Today, I know the importance of Cisco. We had to pay JUST 2000 naira for Cisco training (this was probably done in other government schools) but as usual, most of us did not take it seriously.

The best thing we were taught was how to be sisters and friends forever.

Friends Forever!
Friends Forever!
DSC00969
Cultural Night

So even on past glory, it still tries to train girls in the proper way. We were the ones who chose not to learn because we taught they were punishing us. Society, home training, lack of priority had made girls do what they weren’t meant to do. Not the school.

It amazes me how the tradition never changes. The things that the class of ’97 did, class of ’11 found themselves doing. The slangs- school life in general. The school motto; Pass on the Torch is so befitting, no one can opt for an adjustment.

So whether or not Queen’s College is living on past glory, I have noticed that truly it isn’t a competition which school you attended. As long as it had impacted something tangible inside you. You are fit to walk and talk anywhere, in any society, with any social background. Just as Q.C taught me.

Pass On the Torch!

Oh and a very big thank you to my models, whose permission I did not seek before posting these pictures 😀 I love you all to pieces!!!

52 thoughts on “In Praise of my Alma mater; QUEEN’S COLLEGE, Yaba, Lagos.

  1. Kure! Ur awesome nd ds is just it!! Queen’s College,d greatest skl eva nw and alwyz.Pass on the torch bby!! … nd tnk u for using our shining teeth picture oh,lol

  2. Ǎ̜̣̍м̣̣̥̇̊ proud to b a QC girl.I graduated in 2003 n Ǎ̜̣̍м̣̣̥̇̊ still behaving n walkin d way I was taught in QC.I will choose QC ova n ova again.thank Γφυ GOD n ma parents 4sendin me to QC.Ǎ̜̣̍м̣̣̥̇̊ married n will send my girls to Queen’s College,Yaba,Lagos.even wen Ǎ̜̣̍м̣̣̥̇̊ outside naija,dey’ll still come to QC.I miss all ma friends n QC as a whole.QC is ma family.luv y’all

  3. This is amazing!! I’m so proud to be a QC girl right now; well done, you did QC girls all over the world very proud. Much love

  4. Queen’s college would always continue to produce future ambassadors in various fields of life. Freedom fighters, future mothers, Activists, Lawyers, Diplomats, Senators, Accountants…..and lot more. Once a Qc girl, always a Qc girl. Keep up the good work @joana

  5. “The girl is bad. Society is bad. If
    the girl did not let the school pass
    through her, then it’s her cup of tea.” That’s all I needed to hear…or read…whatever. Nice piece

  6. Splendid write-up Joanna! Lets keep the torch brightly gleaming in all areas of our life!The sky is our starting point!

  7. A very good piece you wrote and interesting, I never regretted sending you to QC. You are making me proud, pass on this torch to your younger ones. Keep the Kure’s flag up too and keep writing. Love You.

  8. I didn’t go to Q.C (many of you might say this is famZzzzzzZ,na una sabi) but I know quite a number of auntie’s,cousins and friends who did…tbh you guys are amazing,fun and well cultured..through Q.C girls I actually learnt the actual meaning of having your sisters back and having true friends…and yh once you meet a Q.C product you have definitely found a mother,sister and friend…I Love my Q.C crew…shout out to my girls Princess whose creativity baffles me as often as I breath,Aunty Funmi G. whose love and support keeps be moving,Bukiie Adetiba who understands me more than myself (sometimes),Evelyn E. The life of the party :*and all the others..I LovE yoU guys to death…
    Pass On the Torch…

  9. WoooooooW!! This is sooooooo beautiful.. Lots of memories flooded my mind as I read dis master piece :’).. I’ll always love. Q.C forever n Ever #TeamQcOg

  10. THIS IS ABSOLOUTELY FANTASTIC! OMG can’t believe I’ve only just read this. Well done seateee! You’ve done me proud! Aha. What a spectacular write-up…. #QCOG ALL THE WAY!!! Xx

  11. Oh my!This just made my day :’) This is such an amazing write-up and so true.. “The school motto; Pass on the Torch is so befitting, no one can opt for an adjustment.” “There are only two schools in Africa; Queen’s College and others” you said it all… I’m so proud to be a QCOG 🙂 class of 2012 PASS ON THE TORCH!
    well done joanna kure!

  12. awww, even though I graduated in 2007, these encomiums make me proud of my Alma mater. We often overlook how much that school impacted in us. I made my best friends in that school and it was a great experience. I’m thankful for the people I met and for the school itself.
    Pass on the torch!

  13. chizzy this write up is so nyce and me too am proud to be a QCOG.coming to Qc taught me lot of things and am grateful to everyone who made my stay there a pleasurable one.

  14. You will find quite lots of details that strategy to consider. This is a great examine start up. I offer the thoughts above as common inspiration but clearly youll uncover questions just like the 1 you raise up where the most critical factor will likely be finding function done in honest very excellent faith. I don?t know if recommendations have emerged about items like that, but I know that a job is clearly referred to as a good game. Both children glance at the impact of only a moments pleasure, throughout their lives.

  15. I simply could not go away your site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the usual information an individual supply on your visitors? Is gonna be again incessantly to check up on new posts.

  16. I truly enjoy looking through on this internet site, it has good articles. “For Brutus is an honourable man So are they all, all honourable men.” by William Shakespeare.

  17. Queen’s college Yaba Lagos is 1 and only,evry oda queen’s worefa is counterfeit. Am proud 2 b a QCOG. Lovely write up *huge grin*

  18. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  19. I’m just seeing this nw and its so awesomeeeee, you see Qc is already making great brands like you already, Kudos Sweetheart!!

  20. im here trying to figure out my english assignment and i bump into this article. best thing that has happened all day!!!!! i graduated in 2013 so im probably too much of a junior to be here. its funny how after i graduated, i realized how much i actually love my school!
    nice to find like minds here!
    lovely write-up

  21. 2003 QCOG here. It was nice stumbling on your article. Well said. You are definitely on point about the appreciation for the sisterhood and friendship that we all share. Keep passing on the touch.

  22. Oooh Nice write up tho… just seeing this now after how many years
    Am proud to be a QCOG tho

  23. Can you imagine am just seeing this….after how many years
    this is so nice…. Am proud to be a QCOG

Leave a Reply

